Home|Search|Identify|Taxonomic tree|Quiz|About this site|Feedback
Developed by ETI BioInformatics
Characteristics, distribution and ecology
Taxonomische classification
Synonyms and common names
Literature references
Images, audio and video
Links to other Web sites

(Rüppell, 1830)

The carapace is furnished with rigid setae implanted only on the granules, the furrows are smooth and naked. 2M is divided longitudinally into 2 parts; its external branch is indicated, on the anterior margin, by an outline of a fissure or is deeply subdivided longitudinally. 2M is entirely divided longitudinally into two parts; each external branch is entire or with only an outline of a division on the anterior margin. The carapace is 1.5 to 1.6 times broader than long. The areolas on the regions are convex, the margins regular and invested with granules bearing short, stiff setae. The odd median lobe of 3M is short and hardly developed. The black pigmentation on the fixed finger of the adult male chelipeds entirely encircles the palm. (Serène, 1984)

Type locality: Red Sea.
Range: Red Sea - (Rüppell, 1830, H. Milne Edwards, 1834, Kossmann, 1877, Klunzinger, 1913, Guinot, 1964b), Tor, Djeddah and Port Sudan (Odhner, 1925); Suez Canal (Fox, 1927); Gulf of Aden - Djibouti (Odhner, 1925); Kenya - Mombasa (Serène, 1984); Tanzania - Dar es Salaam (Odhner, 1925); Mozambique (Stebbing, 1921b); Madagascar - Nosy Bé (Serène, 1984); Mayotte Islands (Serène, 1984); Seychelles - Mahé (Doflein, 1904, Odhner, 1925), Praslin (Serène, 1984), Coëtivy Islands (Rathbun, 1911); Mauritius (Bouvier, 1915b, Odhner, 1925, Michel, 1964, Guinot, 1976); Chagos Archipelago - Egmont and Salomon Island (Rathbun, 1911); Andaman Islands (Alcock, 1898); Nicobar Islands (Odhner, 1925); Japan - Ogasawara-shoto (Odhner, 1925), Amami-shoto, Yaeyama-retto, and Ogasawara-shoto (Sakai, 1976a); Taiwan; China - Paracel Islands (Chen & Lan, 1978, Dai & Yang, 1991); Vietnam (Serène & Lang, 1959); Singapore (Odhner, 1925); Sulu Archipelago - Jolo (Garth & Kim, 1983); Indonesia - Ternate, Batjan and Ambon (Odhner, 1925); New Guinea - Friedrich-Wilhelmshafen (Odhner, 1925); New Britain (Odhner, 1925); Solomon Islands - Bougainville (Odhner, 1925); Australia - Queensland; New Caledonia (Odhner, 1925); Mariana Islands (Holthuis, 1953); Caroline Islands - Ponape (Odhner, 1925); Marshall Islands - Jaluit (Odhner, 1925); Fiji (Odhner, 1925); Samoa - Upolu (Dana, 1852, Odhner, 1925); Line Islands - Palmyra (Edmondson, 1923); Tahiti (Odhner, 1925, Guinot, 1976); coral reef, shallow waters.

Actaeodes hirsutissimus