Home|Search|Identify|Taxonomic tree|Quiz|About this site|Feedback
Developed by ETI BioInformatics
Characteristics, distribution and ecology
Taxonomische classification
Synonyms and common names
Literature references
Images, audio and video
Links to other Web sites

(Forskål, 1775)

Carapace convex, smooth; regions ill defined; orbital, hepatic, and branchial regions marked with fine net-like corrugation. Front deflected downwards, its anterior margin straight in dorsal view, bearing a lobate process in the middle. Distance between inner superorbital teeth about one-third as long as breadth of carapace. Dorsal margin of orbit slightly convex and with a gradually postero-lateral slant. Antero-lateral margin longer than postero-lateral margin, strongly arched; postero-lateral margins converging backwards. Conjunctive site between antero-lateral and postero-lateral margins provided with a blunt tooth.
Chelipeds stout, asymmetrical. Carpus with inner-distal angle obtuse. Major chelipeds with massive palm, fingers each with an obtuse tooth at subproximal end of the inner margins. Minor chelipeds relatively smaller and thinner; finger with no distinct tooth. Ambulatory legs smooth, the border bluntly round; dactyli elongate and slender, with a dark brown cuticular claw at tip.
First pleopod of the male with distal portion slightly curved inner-dorsally; tip obliquely truncated, with distinct aperture. Male abdomen narrow and elongate, third to fourth segments fused; sixth segment much broader than long; the terminal segment triangular. Female abdomen oblong, terminal segment acutely triangular. Carapace length of the male 41-56 mm, breadth 55-78 mm; of the female, length 49.1 mm, breadth 68.2 mm. (Dai & Yang, 1991)

Type locality: Red Sea.
Range: Red Sea (Klunzinger, 1913); Kenya - Jadini; Zanzibar (Lenz, 1905); Mozambique - Delagoa Bay (Barnard, 1950); South Africa - Durban (Barnard, 1950); Madagascar - Nosy Bé and Fort-Dauphin; Iles Glorieuses; Aldabra Islands; Seychelles - Amirante and Coëtivy Islands (Rathbun, 1911); Mauritius (Bouvier, 1915b, Michel, 1964); Persian Gulf - Arabi (Stephensen, 1945); Andaman Islands (Alcock, 1898); Nicobar Islands (Alcock, 1898); Japan - Okinawa (Stimpson, 1907), Tosa Bay and Northern Daito-jima (Sakai, 1939), Hachijo-jima (Sakai, 1954), Kii Nagashima, Kii Minabe, Amami-Oshima, Yoron-jima and Ishigaki-jima (Sakai, 1976a), Okinawa-jima (Miyake, 1983), Wagu, Kii Nagashima, Kii Minabe, Kushimoto, Amami-Oshima, and Yoron-jima (Muraoka, 1998), Ginowan, Okinawa (Shokita et al., 2000), Sagami Bay, Ogasawara-shoto; Taiwan (Lin, 1949); China - Hainan Island and Paracel Islands (Dai & Yang, 1991); Indonesia - Ambon (de Man, 1887d, Rathbun, 1910b), west of Celebes; Palau (Sendler, 1923, Takeda, 1976a); New Caledonia - Ilot Maitre (Takeda & Nunomura, 1976); Fiji (Dana, 1852); Hawaii - Sandwich Island (Dana, 1852), Honolulu, Waikiki Beach, Hilo, and Waiawa Kanai (Rathbun, 1906); Line Islands - Palmyra and Tabuaeran (Edmondson, 1923); Tahiti (Stimpson, 1907, Guinot, 1968c); Tubuai Islands - Rurutu (Poupin, 1996a).

Carpilius convexus